• IHO Logo
  • IOC of UNESCO Logo

GEBCO Guiding Committee

  • IHO Logo
  • IOC of UNESCO Logo

Welcome to a new member of the GEBCO Guiding Committee

GEBCO is pleased to announce that Captain Patricio Carrasco (Director, Servicio Hidrográfico y Oceanográfico de la Armada de Chile (SHOA)) has been appointed as a new International Hydrographic Organisation (IHO) representative to the Joint IHO-IOC Guiding Committee for GEBCO. We welcome Captain Carrasco and look forward to working with him.

We are also pleased to confirm that Dr Hyo Hyun Sung (Ewha Womans University, Republic of Korea) will serve for a second five-year term as an IHO representative to the GEBCO Guiding Committee.

Access the full list of Guiding Committee members.


GEBCO consists of an international group of experts who work on the development of a range of bathymetric data sets and data products with the aim of providing the most authoritative publicly-available bathymetry for the world's oceans. It operates under the joint auspices of the IHO and the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) (of UNESCO).

GEBCO's work is directed by a Guiding Committee, consisting of an equal number of representatives from both the IHO and IOC. Its work is supported by technical sub-committees on ocean mapping and undersea feature names plus ad hoc working groups. These committees and groups are made up of experts in many fields from organisations from all around the world.

h4 class="section__subtitle">Related Content
Similar news
Reserves Minister Julian Brazier of the UKHO presenting the award to Rear Admiral Patricio Carrasco (centre) and his wife Mrs Maria S. Figari
Patricio Carrasco receives 2015 Alexander Dalrymple Award

The GEBCO community would like to congratulate Rear Admiral Patricio Carrasco on being awarded the 2015 Alexander Dalrymple Award by the UK Hydrographic Office.

David Millar, Fugro Government Accounts  Director, Americas
New appointment to the GEBCO Guiding Committee

The GEBCO community is pleased to welcome Mr David Millar, Fugro's Government Accounts Director, Americas, to the IHO-IOC GEBCO Guiding Committee.